### **MINUTES**

# ALABAMA STATE BAR 2022 GRAND CONVOCATION AND ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

Hilton Sandestin and via Zoom Emerald Ballroom A-D 4000 S. Sandestin Boulevard Miramar Beach, Florida 32550

Saturday, June 25, 2022

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

In the absence of President Taze Shepard, Vice President Tom Perry called to order the 145th Grand Convocation and Annual Business Meeting of the Alabama State Bar.

## 2. <u>STATE OF THE JUDICIARY – CHIEF JUSTICE TOM PARKER</u>

Chief Justice Tom Parker congratulated President Taze Shepard and the Alabama State Bar on a successful annual meeting and said that he looked forward to working with President-elect Gibson Vance in the coming year.

Chief Justice Parker highlighted the work of the judiciary during the past year. The Chief Justice through a PowerPoint presentation highlighted the need for additional judges across the state and discussed the recent decision of the Judicial Allocation Commission to move a judgeship from Jefferson County to Madison County.

Vice President Perry thanked Chief Justice Parker for his remarks and pledged continued support and cooperation by the bar in improving the court system and access to justice in Alabama.

### 3. FIFTY YEAR CERTIFICATES

Vice President Tom Perry read the names of those individuals who were in attendance to receive their 50-year certificate, which was presented along with their 50-year pin by President-elect Gibson Vance. Those present to receive their certificate and pin were:

Mr.	Rufus	Edward	Elliott	III
Hon.	Howard	Flournoy	Bryan	IV
Mrs.	Carolyn	Burgess	Featheringill	
Mr.	Roger	Glen	Killian	
Mr.	John	Malcolm	Laney	Jr.

Mr.	Edwin	Key	Livingston
Mr.	Charles	Tom	Payne
Mr.	Thomas	Wayne	Sorrells

## 4. <u>RECOGNITION OF SPECIAL GUESTS</u>

Vice President Perry recognized members of the judiciary, members of the Alabama state legislature, past presidents of the Alabama State Bar, members of the Board of Bar Commissioners and executive council, and Leadership Forum alumni.

## 5. PRESENTATION OF PRESIDENT'S AWARD

Vice President Perry said that many people had been critical to President Shepard's success as president of the Alabama State Bar. In particular, President Shepard asked to recognize the following for their assistance and presented each of them with the President's award:

Mary Margaret Bailey	Brannon Buck
Laura Calloway	Julianna Dean
Angela Debro	Sam Ford
Eileen Harris	Guy Lescault
Barry Matson	Matt McDonald
Phil Mitchell	Flynn Mozingo
Clinton Richardson	Harold Stephens
Gibson Vance	Claire Veal
Greg Ward	

# 6. <u>PRESENTATION OF THE WILLIAM D. "BILL" SCRUGGS, JR.</u> <u>AWARD</u>

Vice President Perry announced that the William D. "Bill" Scruggs, Jr. Award recipient is President Taze Shepard. Vice President Perry stated that the award is given to those members of the Alabama State Bar that have made significant contribution(s) and outstanding, long-term service to the bar. He thanked President Shepard for his leadership for many years through the Solo and Small Firm Section and this year as President. He further stated that President Shepard has demonstrated inspiring leadership and strength while fighting his own personal battle with cancer.

# 7. <u>PRESENTATION OF THE J. ANTHONY "TONY" McLAIN</u> <u>PROFESSIONALISM AWARD</u>

Vice President Perry presented the J. Anthony "Tony" McLain Professionalism Award to Mike Ballard. General Counsel Roman Shaul also acknowledged Mike Ballard for his long-time service on the Client Security Trust Fund.

# 8. PRESENTATION OF THE COMMISSIONERS' AWARD

Vice President Perry presented the Commissioners' Awards to the following Commissioners:

Clay MartinMark DebroElizabeth SmithartAaron ChastainTom PerryLang FloydAllison SkinnerJohn StampsHalron TurnerMark Boardman

## 9. PRESENTATION OF THE JEAN MARIE LESLIE AWARD

Vice President Perry recognized Jeremy Rakes, Director of the Alabama lawyers Assistance Program of the Alabama State Bar, to present the Honorable Billy Ogletree with the Jean Marie Leslie Award.

## 10. PRESENTATION OF THE AWARD OF MERIT

Vice President Perry presented the Award of Merit to the Commissioners serving as chairs of the Governance and Internal Operation Task Force:

Leon Hampton Raymond Bell Terri Tompkins Pat Sefton

This award recognizes those who improved the administration of justice in Alabama.

## 11. ANNOUNCEMENT OF AWARDS PREVIOUSLY PRESENTED

Vice President Perry announced recipients of awards presented at other times during the Alabama State Bar Annual Meeting.

Judicial Award of Merit	Hon. Gaines McCorquodale
Maude McLure Kelly Award	Hon. Carole Smitherman
Justice Janie L. Shores Scholarship	Chotsani Holifield
Susan B. Livingston Award	Hon. Sue Bell Cobb

# 12. <u>PRESENTATION OF THE VOLUNTEER LAWYERS PROGRAM PRO BONO</u> <u>AWARDS</u>

Vice President Perry recognized Mary Margaret Bailey, chair of the Pro Bono Committee, to announce the recipients of the Volunteer Lawyers Program Pro Bono Awards.

Timothy J. F. Gallagher, Albert Vreeland Award

Brian D. Hayes, Mediator Award

Alabama Bankruptcy Assistance Project Advisory Council, Firm/Group Award

Lucas Lopez, University of Alabama School of Law, Law Student Award

John C. Craft, Public Interest Attorney Award

# 13. PRESIDENT RECOGNITION

President Methvin recognized President Taze Shepard for his service over the past year and presented the President's Plaque and Framed Photograph that was accepted on behalf of President Shepard by the 2021-2022 Executive Committee.

# 14. <u>RECOGNITION OF GIBSON VANCE AS PRESIDENT-ELECT</u>

Vice President Perry congratulated Brannon Buck on becoming president-elect. Mr. Buck made brief remarks and said that he looked forward to supporting incoming president Gibson Vance in executing his initiatives for the coming year.

# 15. <u>INSTALLATION OF GIBSON VANCE AS 147<sup>TH</sup> PRESIDENT OF THE</u> <u>ALABAMA STATE BAR</u>

Vice President Perry introduced Gibson Vance of Montgomery as the 147th president of the Alabama State Bar and presented him with the presidential gavel and pin. Chief Justice Tom Parker administered the oath of office. President Vance thanked President Taze Shepard for his leadership over the past year. President Vance also thanked Chief Justice Parker and other members of the judiciary for their support and strong relationships with the Alabama State Bar.

In his speech after being sworn in as president, President Vance indicated that his administration will focus on helping the 19,000+ members of the Alabama State Bar. He introduced an initiative called "Drive for Five" that will provide five free counseling sessions for all lawyers, judges and law students. He shared staggering statistics about the wellness of lawyers and emphasized that for lawyers to be good lawyers that must be healthy lawyers. He told everyone that he will be traveling across the state to spread this message.

#### **GRAND PRIZE DRAWING**

Robyn Bernier and representatives of Insurance Specialists (ISI) were recognized for the drawing of the grand prize.

She concluded by thanking the vendors, sponsors, speakers and lawyers for their participation in this year's annual meeting. She took the opportunity to thank the staff of the Alabama State Bar for working so hard to make this a great meeting.

### 16. <u>CLOSING REMARKS AND ADJOURNMENT</u>

President Vance closed the meeting by reminding all in attendance that the 2023 annual meeting would be held July 12-15, 2023, at the Grand Hotel in Point Clear, Alabama. He reminded the commissioners of their brief meeting in Coastal Ballroom C immediately following the annual business meeting. He also invited everyone to the Presidential Reception beginning at 11:30 a.m. in Coastal Ballroom A-B. The Annual Meeting concluded at 11:00 a.m.

1 are

Tazewell T. Shepard, III, President Alabama State Bar Foundation

Gibson Vance President, 2022-2023

ATTEST:

& Lonel

Terri B. Lovell, Secretary-Treasurer Alabama State Bar Foundation