Alabama State Bar
User ID   Password  
Alabama State Bar Inducts Four Into Lawyers Hall Of Fame

Susan Andres
Alabama State Bar
Director of Communications
» News Release Archive

MONTGOMERY, April 11, 2006 - The Alabama State Bar will honor four outstanding Alabama lawyers who have demonstrated a lifetime of achievement at a special ceremony this Friday, April 14, 2006, at 11:30 a.m. at the Supreme Court of Alabama. "The Lawyers Hall of Fame was established in 2003, with its first inductees in 2004, in order to spotlight contributions to the state of Alabama throughout its history, says Birmingham attorney and former president of the Alabama State Bar, Sam Rumore, chair of the selection committee for the award. “We are honoring the "top of the top" outstanding lawyers in the state's history. There is a need for the public to know these lawyers and understand their contributions."

The honorees for 2005 are:

Oscar W. Adams (1925 - 1997)
Pioneer African American attorney in Alabama, Associate Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court (1980 - 1993), and the first African American to be appointed and elected to statewide office.

William Douglas Arant (1897 - 1987)
A nationally respected attorney; active in community affairs, governmental affairs and the profession, including the American Bar Association and the Alabama State Bar (President 1936 - 1937).

Hugo L. Black (1886 - 1971)
Private practitioner, United States Senator (1926 - 1937) and Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court (1937-1971), known as a firm defender and staunch advocate of the First Amendment.

Harry Toulmin (1766 - 1823)
Appointed by President Thomas Jefferson as Judge in the Tombigbee District, delegate to the First Alabama Constitutional Convention (1819), elected as one of the State’s first circuit judges following statehood and prepared the first Alabama Digest of Laws (1821)

Honorees must be Alabama lawyers who have made extraordinary contributions through the law at the state, national or international level and meet the criteria of the award. Criteria include a breadth of achievement, a profound respect for professional ethics, community leadership and a recognized ability to mentor, lead or inspire others in the pursuit of justice. A twelve-person panel serves as the Selection Committee. Only lawyers deceased at least two years will be considered.