Alabama State Bar
User ID   Password  
2013 Law Day Competition Winners Announced;
Montgomery Schools Win Eight Medals

Brad Carr
Alabama State Bar
Public Information Officer
(334) 517-2128 or
(334) 782-2781
facebook: alabamastatebar
Twitter: @AlabamaStateBar
» News Release Archive

Montgomery, Alabama, April 25, 2013 – As the nation celebrates Law Day, a national day set aside to celebrate the rule of law, the Alabama State Bar has announced the winners of this year’s Law Day competition for both primary and secondary school students.
Winners will be recognized Wednesday, May 1st at a special ceremony to be held at 11 a.m. at the Alabama Supreme Court. Morris Dees, co-founder of the Southern Poverty Law Center, will deliver brief remarks. Following the presentation of awards, students and their guests will be treated to a special luncheon at the state bar.
State Bar President Phillip W. McCallum, Birmingham (McCallum Methvin & Terrell PC), said, "We received a record 751 entries from students throughout the state that explored the movement for civil and human rights in America and the impact that it has had in promoting the ideal of equality under the law. Through essays, designing social media content or art displays, the students gave voice to this year’s national Law Day theme, ‘“Realizing the Dream: Equality for All.”’
In the past, the competition was limited to using posters and essays to creatively interpret the theme but it now includes a social media category. Students from Brewbaker Tech Magnet School in Montgomery swept the Twitter category and took first and third places in the Facebook category.
The poster and essay contests are divided into two categories – grades K-6 for posters and grades 7-12 for essays. Winners in the essay and social media categories receive $200, $150 and $100; winners in the poster contest receive $125, $100 and $75.

All winners receive engraved gold medals and award certificates. Schools of all winners receive certificates and teachers of the winners receive a $25 contribution per award for use in their classrooms.

Judges for the competition were: Law Day Committee Chair David J. Rains, Tuscaloosa (Rosen Harwood PA); Co-chair Chad Stewart, Montgomery (Beasley Allen Methvin Crow Portis & Miles PC); Darlene Biehl, Montgomery (editor, River Region magazine); Juliana Dean, Montgomery, associate general counsel (Ala. Dept. of Education); Tommy Klinner, Montgomery, general counsel (Ala. Dept. of Mental Health & Retardation); Ashley Swink Fincher, Auburn (Phelps Dunbar LLP); Craig Baab, Montgomery (Appleseed Center for Law & Justice, Inc.); Alvin Benn, columnist (The Montgomery Advertiser) and assistant general counsels Tripp Vickers and Mark Moody, Alabama State Bar.
List of Winners



GRADES 10-12

1st Place

Kara Green
Prattville Christian Academy/P’ville
Teacher: Mrs. Jan Williams

Dannielle Thompson
B.T. Washington Magnet/Montg.
Teacher: Dr. DeShannon McDonald

2nd Place

Alex Lipscomb
Hilltop Montessori School/B’ham        
Teacher: Mrs. Sherry Cook

Taylor Thornton
Colbert Heights H.S./Russellville
Teacher: Mr. Saint

3rd Place

Katlin Thorn
Cherokee High School/Cherokee
Teacher: Mrs. Kathy Hays

Adrian Rodriquez
Central H.S./Phenix City
Teacher: Mrs. Barbara Romey




1st Place

Jelan Smith
Harry M. Nixon Elementary/Ozark
Teacher: Ms. Benson

Piper Schneider
Bear Exploration Ctr./Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Kris White

2nd Place

Dalton Coleman
W.S. Neal /Evergreen
Teacher: Mrs. Susan Coleman

Brady Orr
Bear Exploration Ctr./Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Kris White

3rd Place

Draven Preston
Cherokee Elementary/Cherokee
Teacher: Mrs. Johnson

Taleah Sadler
Ft. Payne Middle School/Ft. Payne
Teacher: Mrs. Suzanne Camp




1st Place

Nicol Gauntt
Brewbaker Tech. Magnet/Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Sonya Keeton

Jordan Hendrix
Brewbaker Tech. Magnet/Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Sonya Keeton

2nd Place

Taylor Harris
Pleasant Grove H.S./Pleasant Gr.
Teacher: Ms. Lori McCrary

Madison Loehr
Brewbaker Tech. Magnet/Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Sonya Keeton

3rd Place

Corey Johnson
Brewbaker Tech. Magnet/Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Sonya Keeton

Matthew Bailey
Brewbaker Tech. Magnet/Montg.
Teacher: Mrs. Sonya Keeton