Alabama State Bar
User ID   Password  
Montgomery Magnet Schools Sweep Law Day Awards

Alabama State Bar
Director of
» News Release Archive

Click here to see Winning Entries from Law Day 2003!

Montgomery, April 30, 2003 - Whether viewed through the creative art of a child's imagination or the imagery of the written word, judges of the Alabama State Bar's Law Day 2003 competition came away with a vivid impression of what freedom and an independent judiciary mean to Alabama's youth. Floyd Middle Magnet entries took six awards, sweeping the photography contest, with Booker T. Washington students winning four of the coveted prizes. Students from Hartselle High School, Red Level School, Head Elementary and Tuskegee Institute Middle School received top honors as well. This year, for the first time, an international student won top honors in the poster contest while a Hartselle youth made it "two-in-a-row" for a 1st place essay.

Hundreds of Alabama students competed for honors in the annual statewide event, focusing on this year's Law Day theme of "Celebrate Your Freedom - Independent Courts Protect Our Liberties." In addition to members of the Alabama State Bar Law Day Committee, celebrity judges this year included Montgomery First Lady Judge Lynn Clardy Bright, Michael Briddell, of WSFA-TV; Elizabeth Via Brown, former Montgomery Advertiser columnist who is now a free-lance writer, local art teacher, Diddy Vucovich, third-year law clerk Dayna Burnett and Col. Ted Fink, who headed a team of Judge Advocate Group officers from Maxwell AFB.

Montgomery attorneys, Tommy Klinner and Tim Lewis, co-chairs of the state bar's Law Day 2003 Committee, officially announced winners today. Winners will be recognized Thursday, May 1 at a special ceremony to be held at 11:00 a.m. at the Supreme Court of Alabama. Following the presentation of awards by Alabama State Bar President Fred D. Gray and the Hon. John B. Crawley, Alabama Court of Civil Appeals, the students and their special guests will tour the judicial building before attending a luncheon in their honor at the Alabama State Bar.

There are three (3) classifications - grades K-3 and 4-6 for posters; grades 7-9 and 10-12 for essays and grades 7-12 in photography. Winners in the essay contest receive US Savings Bonds in the amounts of $200, $150 and $100 respectively; winners in the poster contest receive bonds in the amounts of $125, $100 and $75. Bonds of $100, $75 and $50 go to photography winners. All winners receive engraved gold medals and award certificates. Schools of all winners receive special engraved Law Day plaques for permanent display and teachers of the winners receive a $25 contribution per award for use in their classrooms. All other participating schools receive certificates.

This year's winners include:
1st-Peyton Steele, Head Elementary School, Montgomery
2nd-Maggie Lambert, Red Level School, Red Level
3rd- Brennan Woodham, Red Level School, Red Level

1st-Barbara Bokor, Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery
2nd-Cowan Woodham, Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery
3rd-Ian Kim, Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery

1st- Nic Powell, Hartselle High School, Hartselle
2nd-Adrienne Knight, Booker T. Washington Magnet High School, Montgomery
3rd-Shante Holley, Tuskegee Institute Middle School, Tuskegee

ESSAYS 10-12
1st- Christina Perkins, Booker T. Washington Magnet High School, Montgomery
2nd- Julia Collins, Booker T. Washington Magnet High School, Montgomery
3rd-Bri Whetstone, Booker T. Washington Magnet High School, Montgomery

Photography 7-12
1st-Justin Spivey Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery
2nd - Lakendrick Knight, Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery
3rd- Ronnie Eaton, Floyd Middle Magnet School, Montgomery