Alabama State Bar
User ID   Password  
Alabama State Bar Honors 2006 Award Recipients

Susan Andres
Alabama State Bar
Director of Communications
» News Release Archive

MONTGOMERY, July 17, 2006 . . . At the bar's annual meeting in San Destin this weekend, awards to honor outstanding members of the legal profession in Alabama were presented.
Hon. U.W. Clemmon, Chief Judge, United States District Court, Northern District of Alabama, received the prestigious Judicial Award of Merit, recognizing trial and appellate judges, not yet retired, for their contribution to the administration of justice in Alabama.

Harper Lee, Monroeville author of "To Kill a Mockingbird", received ASB Award of Merit, which is awarded for outstanding constructive service to the legal profession in Alabama.

David R. Boyd, Montgomery attorney, received the William D. (Bill) Scruggs, Jr., Service to the Alabama State Bar Award, which honors the memory and accomplishments of Scruggs and encourages the emulation of his deep devotion and service to the bar by recognizing outstanding, long-term service to the ASB as an organization.

Receiving the Alabama State Bar Commissioners Award recognizing an individual's long-standing commitment to the administration of justice in Alabama was Sam Franklin of Birmingham. The Chief Justice's Professionalism Award recipient was Hon. Albert P. Brewer, presented by the Alabama State Bar and the Chief Justice's Commission on Professionalism.

The Local Bar Achievement award, based on participation by a local bar in advancing programs to benefit the community, and enhancement to the bar's image in the community, was presented to the Escambia County Bar Association for programs and activities conducted this year.

The Volunteer Lawyer Program (VLP) of the bar presented the following awards: In the Attorney Category, Henry H. Caddell of Mobile, Alabama, was named as the outstanding Pro Bono volunteer of the year. In the Firm/Group Category, the Disaster Relief Committee of Young Lawyers' Section of the Alabama State Bar received the award and in the Law Student Category, Tamara J. Watson, University of Alabama School of Law, was recognized.

The ASB Women's Section selected Mahala Ashley Dickerson for the prestigious Maud McLure Kelly Award, presented annually to an outstanding female lawyer. Ms. Dickerson was the first African-American female lawyer in her native state of Alabama.