Alabama State Bar
User ID   Password  
Proclamation Instructions

Proclamations are an easy way to recognize and celebrate the pro bono work of your local bar.

Below are several resources that will guide you through creating, presenting and publicizing a city or county government proclamation. If you need assistance in preparing your proclamation please contact Linda Lund, Director of the Alabama State Bar Volunteer Lawyers Program at (334) 269-1515.

How to Prepare a Proclamation

Step 1: Go to the following link to find the percentage of citizens who live in
poverty in your county.
This percentage will be the last item on the People Quickfacts section.

Step 2: The percentage of lawyers in your county who donated their time
can be found in the link below titled Pro Bono Participation Percentage by County.

Step 3: Below are proclamation forms for your city or county.
Type your local information into the fields on the first page. Press TAB after each field you fill out. The information will automatically go into the proclamation in the correct locations.

Be sure to use correct spelling and capitalization.

Step 4: Contact your local official and ask for their support and passage of the

Step 5: Once the date is set, start contacting your local media. Refer to the
sample press release as needed.


City Proclamation Autoform

County Proclamation Autoform

Proclamation Instructions

Pro Bono Participation Percentage by County

Sample email to Mayor requesting Proclaim

Sample letter to Mayor requesting Proclamation

Sample News Release - Local Proclamation

Sample Press Release - Local Proclamation 2

City of Brewton City of Culman
City of Fayette City of Scottsboro
City of Tuscumbia Colbert County
Culman County Comission Escambia County
Jackson County Lamar County
Pickens County Proclamation Prattville
St Clair County Union Springs
Washington County Baldwin County Commission
City of Aliceville City of Daphine
City of Dothan City of Jasper
City of Pell City City of Wetumpka
County of Dekalb Morgan County
Phenix-City Pike County
Troy Tuscalossa
Sheffield Muscle Shoals
Oneonta Autauga County
Dallas County Selma
Fort Payne Montgomery County Commission
Clarke County Athens
Decatur City Henry County
Limestone County Macon County
Auburn Chilton County
Heflin Clanton
Lauderdale County Madison County
Marshall County Mobile
Opelika Tallapoosa County
Alabaster Calhoun County Commission
Cleburne County Proclamation Etowah
Flomaton Gadsden
Limestone County Commission Montgomery
Russell County