MINUTES ALABAMA STATE BAR EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

President Taze Shepard convened this meeting of the Alabama State Bar Executive Council at 4:00 p.m.

2. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

The Secretary took the roll of the members and the following were present:

Mark Boardman (Parliamentarian) Aaron Chastain (YLS) Mark Debro (Finance Chair) Frederick G. Helmsing, Jr. C. Clay Martin (Personnel Chair) Elizabeth Smithart Angeline Sperling (ALA President) John T. Stamps Tom Perry (Vice-President) Taze Shepard (President) Gibson Vance (President-Elect) Roman Shaul (General Counsel) Terri Lovell (Secretary) Bob Methvin (Past President)

QUORUM PRESENT

3. APPROVAL OF MAY 13, 2022, BBC AGENDA AND MARCH 10, 2022 MINUTES

Agenda for May 11, 2022 EC Meeting, the May 13, 2022, BBC Meeting, and the Minutes from March 10, 2022, Executive Council meeting approved by roll call vote. Vote was unanimous.

4. LONG-RANGE PLANNING TASK FORCE AND BYLAWS TASK FORCE

Members of the task forces were announced to the Executive Council and President Shepard indicated that the Order of Appointment would be forthcoming.

5. <u>ANNUAL MEETING UPDATE</u>

Executive Director Terr Lovell announced that there are currently 231 attendees registered and that the room block would close on May 20th. A virtual track will be provided again this year with registration rolling out on May 23rd at a cost of \$199.00. Sponsorships-to-date are at \$122,750.00 and there are 28 exhibitors participating in the Legal Expo.

6. ELECTION OF AT-LARGE COMMISSIONERS

Approval of nominating currently serving At-Large members of the Board of Bar Commissioners *Raymond Bell (Place 2) and Mitch Kemmer (Place 8)*. Approval of *Jana Garner* to serve as At-Large member of the Board of Bar Commissioners *Place 5*.

7. <u>APPOINTMENTS PENDINGS</u>

Client Security Fund, Disciplinary Board Hearing Officers, Disciplinary Commission, and Alabama Law Foundation will have open seats for approval by the Board of Bar Commissioners. The Executive Council does not need to approve.

8. AWARDS CHANGES AND LANGUAGE

Approval of the resolution to be submitted to the Board of Bar Commissioners as follows:

RESOLUTIONS OF THE BOARD OF BAR COMMISSIONER OF THE ALABAMA STATE BAR

I, the undersigned, president of the Alabama State Bar (the "ASB") hereby certify that the following resolution was duly presented to, voted on, and approved by the Board of Bar Commissioner of the Alabama State Bar (the "Board") at a regularly called meeting held on May 13, 2022:

WHEREAS, the ASB wishes to honor former Bar Commissioner Michael D. Ermert; and

WHEREAS, the ASB intends to clarify that the Commissioners Award and to provide that one awards committee shall be appointed each year to make recommendations as to the Bill Scruggs Service to the Bar Award and the Tony McLain Professionalism Award.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Award of Merit is hereby renamed the "Michael D. Ermert Award of Merit". This award is given for outstanding constructive service to the legal profession in Alabama. The recipient or recipients of this award are chosen by the president of the Alabama State Bar, and the award is presented at the Alabama State Bar's annual meeting. The recipient or recipients must be or have been licensed as an attorney in Alabama. It is not required that this award be presented every year;

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Commissioners Award is given to recognize individuals who have had a long-standing commitment to the improvement of the administration of justice in

Alabama. The recipient or recipients of this award are chosen by the president of the Alabama State Bar, and the award is presented at the Alabama State Bar's annual meeting. The recipient or recipients of this award must be or have been a member of the Board of Bar Commissioners. It is not required that this award be presented every year;

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Executive Council will serve as an awards committee each year. The purpose of this committee will be to review nominations for the Bill Scruggs Service to the Bar Award and the Tony McLain Professionalism Award and to make a recommendation to the Board of Bar Commissioners as to who should receive said awards. It is not required that this award be presented every year; and

FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of these resolutions shall be placed with the permanent records of the ASB.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned President of the ASB has executed this instrument effective as of the date first above written.

9. <u>AWARDS RECIPIENTS</u>

President Shepard announced the nominated award recipients that would be voted on by the Board of Bar Commissioners as follows:

Tony McLain Professionalism Award – Mike Ballard Bill Scruggs Award – ASB President Taze Shepard Judicial Award of Merit – Circuit Judge Gaines McCorquodale Maud McLure Kelly Award – Circuit Judge Carole Smitherman Susan Bevill Livingston Award – Retired Chief Justice Sue Bell Cobb

10. AFFILLIATE AGREEMENTS

Executive Director Terri Lovell explained that there are multiple affiliates or related parties of the Alabama State Bar. These parties typically have (1) common governance (2) use the same facilities, and/or (3) have the same management team. The audits typically identify these groups and set out their relationship. One of the identified affiliate organization is the Alabama Law Foundation. A proposed Memorandum of Understanding was approved for consideration by the ALF Board.

11. ADJOURNMENT

President Shepard thanked the members for their attendance and service and there being no further business before the Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 4:38 p.m.

DONE this the 13th day of March, 2022.

Taxe 0 Tazewell T. Shepard, III

Tazewell T. Shepard, II President, 2021-2022

ATTEST:

Sun R. Lonel