News Post

Alabama State Bar Honors President's Award Recipients

MIRIMAR, Fla. and MONTGOMERY, Ala.—The Alabama State Bar has awarded the 2022 President’s Award at the 145th Annual Meeting of the Alabama State Bar on June 25, 2022, at Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Miramar, Fla.

The President’s Award is presented to members of the bar who best exemplify the Alabama State Bar motto, “Lawyers Render Service.” The recipients are chosen by the current bar president. The 2022 recipients, selected by 146th President Taze Shepard, are:

Mary Margaret Bailey
Brannon Buck
Laura Calloway
Juliana Dean
Angela Debro
Sam Ford
Eileen Harris
Guy Lescault
Barry Matson
Matt McDonald
Phil Mitchell
Flynn Mozingo
Clifton Richardson
Harold Stephens
Gibson Vance
Claire Veal
Greg Ward

“Thank you to each of you for your help and service during the year,” Alabama State Bar President, Taze Shepard, said. “The Alabama State Bar is better because of the important work that each of you do day in and day out.”


The Alabama State Bar (ASB) is the official licensing and regulatory organization of lawyers in Alabama. Created in 1879, the Alabama State Bar became an integrated bar in 1923 by an act of the legislature. Since then, ASB programs and activities have continuously served the public and improved the justice system. It is dedicated to promoting the professional responsibility and competence of its members, improving the administration of justice and increasing the public understanding of and respect for the law.


Melissa Warnke
Director of Communications
Alabama State Bar
(334) 517-2218